O’Meara and Watson take top spots in platform diving

ATLANTE – First-year student Margo O’Meara and junior Ali Watson took the top two spots in women’s platform diving at the NCAA Zone B Diving Championship on Tuesday at the McAuley Aquatic Center to qualify for the 2022 NCAA Championship.

O’Meara wrapped up her first zonal championship appearance with a gold medal, winning the platform diving event with a score of 587.20. O’Meara also won the platform diving event at the ACC Championship in February. She qualified for the NCAA championship in all three collegiate diving events.

Not far behind, junior Ali Watson placed second in the platform event with a score of 586.85, matching her best zonal championship result in the event since she also placed second a year ago. Watson will compete in his second NCAA championship by earning an All-America honorable mention placing 16th in the event at the 2021 championship.

Second year Emily Rakestraw also reached the final in platform diving in his first zonal championship appearance. She placed 13th in the event (502.95).

Second year Seamus Harding Jr. represented Duke in the men’s three-metre diving final. Harding Jr. finished 16th in the event with a score of 630.45.

Duke wraps up action at the Zone B Diving Championship on Wednesday as the men compete in platform diving. Senior Harel Anolick and Harding Jr. are expected to represent the Blue Devils. The preliminaries begin at 11 a.m. and the finals will follow at 1:15 p.m.

2022 NCAA Championship Playoffs:
Sarah Foley – 200 freestyle, 200 individual medley, 200 breaststroke
Margo O’Meara – One meter dive, Three meter dive, Platform dive
Maddi Pullinger – Dive to one meter, dive to three meters
Catherine Purnell – 200 butterfly, 400 individual medley, 500 freestyle
Ali Watson – Platform diving