If you want to learn more about AMD’s upcoming AM5 platform, tune in to this event

AMD is gearing up to launch its Ryzen 7000 series desktop processors and accompanying socket AM5 motherboards. The company will hold a public warm-up event which it calls ‘Meet the Experts (opens in a new tab)‘ (Going through Luxx Hardware (opens in a new tab)), which will feature high-end X670 and X670E motherboards from all major vendors.

The online event will take place on Friday, August 4 at 4 p.m. GMT (12 p.m. EDT, 9 a.m. PDT, August 5, 2 a.m. AEST). It is expected to run for one hour.

Official topics include a discussion of AM5 ecosystem solutions, an overview of flagship AM5 motherboards, and a general overview of the platform. AMD’s choice to show high-end cards indicates that this is an event for enthusiasts. So if you’re planning on making the switch to Zen 4 sooner rather than later, it’s going to be something worth listening to.

Presenters are comprised of vendor representatives, and they will be eager to showcase the strengths of their advice to a wide audience. Hopefully we get some good information, but we should only expect minor details, if any, on the processors themselves, as AMD is keeping details until launch.

(Image credit: AMD)

As you can see from the image above, these are high-end X670E motherboards. All except the Biostar board are E-ATX. Several of them seem to include M.2 slots adjacent to the memory slots. It’s a wise move for cooling reasons. They are all looking to have powerful VRM and cooling solutions.

Another thing to note: look at the placement of PCIe slots on Asus and Gigabyte cards. I think it’s safe to say that quad-slot GPU coolers are going to become more common in the future.

If you want to catch up on AMD’s Ryzen 7000 series processors and the AM5 platform, check out our previous coverage. There is confirmation of dedicated PCIe 5.0 SSD support (opens in a new tab)AM5 chipset details (opens in a new tab)and details on the Zen 4 processors themselves (opens in a new tab).

We won’t have long to wait for the curtain to be fully drawn, as the latest rumors point to a September release. You can be sure that the PC Gamer team will give you comprehensive coverage from day one.